The Dr. Alan Strange Legacy Award honors a leader or emerging leader who has been committed to improving access to care in the community health field in Montana.

Dr. Alan Strange, Ph.D. was a founding member of the movement that created Community Health Centers across Montana, which started in Yellowstone County. Dr. Strange was a significant contributor to national and state efforts to build a health care system to serve rural areas and get people, especially those most vulnerable, care.

About Dr. Alan Strange

Dr. Alan Strange was the first Executive Director of the Montana Primary Care Association. Dr. Strange requested the initial funding for the Montana Primary Care Association in 1991 and put his energy into increasing the number and diversity of primary care services available to the unserved and underserved in Montana.

Originally from the East Coast, Dr. Strange graduated from Johns Hopkins University with a degree in Behavioral Sciences. For more than 25 years, he worked with the Bureau of Primary Health Care programs, including development and administration of a rural health initiative medical practice and small urban Community Health Centers in Montana. Alan was the initial board member and later Executive Director of the National Rural Primary Care Association.

Dr. Strange also served on various state, regional and national advisory boards and helped shape health care policy for the nation.  His vision for meeting the needs of rural and underserved populations led to countless people receiving care who would otherwise have gone without. Dr. Strange’s focus always remained on how to improve access to primary health care throughout our country and especially in Montana.

As one former co-worker explained, “We are all standing on his shoulders.” The Montana Primary Care Association wouldn’t be where it is today without his work and direction.

This award honors his legacy.

The Inaugural Dr. Alan Strange Award was given at the 2017 Spring Symposium to Lil Anderson of Billings, Montana and Dr. Roxanne Fahrenwald, a medical doctor at RiverStone Health in Billings, Montana.  In 2018  a community board member Jim Morton from Sapphire Health Center in Hamilton received the award.

The 2019 DrAlan Strange will be held Copper King Inn (Clarion Inn) in Butte on May 1
Legacy Award Nominations are due by April 19,2019


  • A patient, volunteer, employee, or board member of a Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHCs) within the state of Montana

Nomination Requirements and Criteria:

  • Outline the years of service in community health and/or a closely related field.
  • Identify the solutions and positive results the candidate has designed and/or implemented.
  • List accomplishments that promote access to high quality, affordable, and comprehensive primary and preventive medical, dental, and mental healthcare for all Montanans, including the underserved, underinsured and uninsured.
  • Candidate’s contributions should clearly demonstrate a significant improvement within the state of Montana.


Nomination Form

2019 Dr. Alan Strange Legacy Award Nomination Form

  • Nominee Information:

  • Information may also be included as a word document or pdf attachment below:
  • Your Information: